barbara

Barbara Hlatshwayo Gauteng, Johannesburg barbara@mybreast.org.za 073 228 9762 Barbara is from Soweto and is a loving wife and caring mother of two boys. In 2016 June she felt a lump in her left breast and was not too worried, hoping it would disappear.  After a month of it not reducing at all in size, she…

Jeanette

Jeanette Nkabinde Gauteng, Johannesburg jeanette@mybreast.org.za Jeanette Nkabinde joined the team in 2018 and is a community educator who ensures that breast cancer patients have a solid understanding about their diagnosis and their treatment. She provides them socio-psycho support as well. She was diagnosed with breast cancer in 2013 at the age of 41 after she…

Ouma

Ouma Mamatela Gauteng, Johannesburg ouma@mybreast.org.za 082 481 5264 Ouma Mamatela is a Breast Cancer councillor working at Helen Joseph Hospital, in Johannesburg. Her duties include education to the public and to give support to the newly diagnosed Breast Cancer patients. She is a gentle soul and quotes: “It’s painful to see patients confused when they…

Ntokoso

Ntokozo Dludla Senior Community Educator ntokozo@mybreast.org.za 073 326 4604 / 082 253 4110 Ntokozo Dludla is an avid palliative care worker and counsellor who strives to make sure Breast Cancer patients get the best care possible. Although the work can be emotionally draining, she loves her job. “My work is about supporting people to live…

Jenna

Jenna Skews Gauteng, Johannesburg jenna@mybreast.org.za 071 175 3441 Jenna Skews found a malignant sarcoma resulting in a lifesaving mastectomy in 2012, her matric year. Having an experience with breast cancer so young, Jenna found a community of understanding and hope in the Breast Health Foundation. She says “I found ladies that understood my struggles, that…

Karen

Office Administrator

Karen Venter Office Administrator Johannesburg karen@mybreast.org.za 011 489 1151 Karen Venter is the lovely office administrator at BHF, who takes care of the accounts and administration. Residing in Johannesburg, she joined the team in 2012. “I enjoy the environment and it’s wonderful to see the difference my colleagues make in people’s lives.” Karen’s advice to…

Louise

Chief Operations Officer

Louise Turner Johannesburg, Gauteng Louise@mybreast.org.za 076 479 0400 Louise Turner is the Chief Operations Officer at Breast Health Foundation (BHF). In 2004, she was diagnosed with Breast Cancer. “When I was diagnosed everything changed – a whole different world opened up for me. I met the most amazing people, because of breast cancer.” As a…

Nosi

Nosi Dumzele Western Cape, Khayelitsha nosi@mybreast.co.za 0733187741 In August 2014 I noticed that my right breast had a lump in it and there was an another lump under my arm. The following day I went to work and told my manager about my discovery. She advised me to go to clinic, which I did and…